London TravelWatch secures big win for millions of London Overground passengers as Mayor keeps ticket offices open

London TravelWatch secures big win for millions of London Overground passengers as Mayor keeps ticket offices open

18 April 2019

London TravelWatch has secured a big win for millions of London Overground passengers after the Mayor of London’s announcement that 47 of the 51 ticket offices previously proposed for closure will be retained* following pressure from the transport watchdog .

In September 2018, London TravelWatch held a consultation on London Overground’s ticket office closure proposals at stations across much of the Overground Network, receiving over 6,500 responses from a range of organisations and individuals**.

Arthur Leathley, Chair of London TravelWatch welcomed the Mayor’s intervention: 'An overwhelming majority of those who responded to our consultation on the plans to close 51 ticket offices felt strongly that they should not close. We are pleased that the Mayor has asked TfL to reconsider the proposals and found the money to keep 47 of them open. Many London Overground passengers rely on the ticket office to buy their tickets and I am delighted that we have secured significant investment in ticketing and customer service as a result of our activity.'

Further information

  • London TravelWatch is the operating name for the London Transport Users Committee. We are the official watchdog representing the interests of transport users in and around London, and independent of the transport operators and government. London TravelWatch is sponsored and funded by the London Assembly, part of the Greater London Authority.
  • * The 51 ticket offices originally proposed for closure were:
  • Acton Central
  • Anerley
  • Brondesbury
  • Brondesbury Park
  • Bruce Grove
  • Bush Hill Park
  • Caledonian Road & Barnsbury
  • Camden Road
  • Canonbury
  • Carpenders Park
  • Clapton
  • Dalston Junction
  • Dalston Kingsland
  • Finchley Road & Frognal
  • Gospel Oak
  • Hackney Central
  • Hackney Downs
  • Hackney Wick
  • Haggerston
  • Hampstead Heath
  • Hatch End
  • Headstone Lane
  • Homerton
  • Honor Oak Park
  • Hoxton
  • Imperial Wharf
  • Kensal Rise
  • Kensington (Olympia)
  • Kentish Town West
  • Kilburn High Road
  • Penge West
  • Rectory Road
  • Rotherhithe
  • Shadwell
  • Shepherds Bush
  • Shoreditch High St
  • Silver Street
  • South Acton
  • South Hampstead
  • Southbury
  • St James Street
  • Stamford Hill
  • Stoke Newington
  • Surrey Quays
  • Theobalds Grove
  • Turkey Street
  • Wapping
  • Watford High Street
  • West Hampstead
  • White Hart Lane
  • Wood Street

Four of these stations will not be retained. Stamford Hill and Theobalds Grove ticket offices, which have been closed for a number of years after arson attacks will not be rebuilt and reopened. Brondesbury ticket office will close to allow a step free access scheme to proceed. White Hart Lane may need to close as the station is rebuilt.

At quieter stations, ticket offices will be open a minimum of 0730-1000 Monday to Friday.

  • **During the consultation on Arriva Rail London’s proposed closure of 51 London Overground ticket offices London TravelWatch received 3,400 responses through an online questionnaire, 959 emails, 2,063 postcard responses and 31written submissions. We also received petitions from community groups and a trade union and submissions from a trade union, MPs, London Assembly Members, Local Authorities, councillors, rail user groups and a business.
  • Follow London TravelWatch on Twitter and You Tube.
  • For more information, please contact the London TravelWatch press office on 020 3176 5941 or 07734 055494.
View All News